Canadian Junior Boys Championship

Canadian Junior Boys Championship heads to Covered Bridge Golf & Country Club

HARTLAND, N.B. – Covered Bridge Golf & Country Club will welcome the nation’s premier junior golfers for the 2019 Canadian Junior Boys Championship. The 81st playing of the tournament will take place between August 11-15 and will consist of 156 golfers from all 10 provinces across Canada.

The Canadian Junior Boys Championship has served as a significant milestone in numerous professional and amateur careers. Before playing on the PGA TOUR, Abbotsford, B.C., native Nick Taylor captured the 2006 Canadian Junior Boys Championship. Other past champions include Canadian Golf Hall of Fame members Doug Silverberg, George Knudson, Gary Cowman and Doug Roxburgh.

“Golf Canada is pleased to head to Hartland to hold our annual Canadian Junior Boys Championship,” said Akash Patel, Tournament Director and Rules and Competitions Coordinator with Golf Canada. “We have received a very warm welcome here and truly appreciate the support and commitment of the staff, volunteers and community. Covered Bridge Golf & Country Club will be a great platform to showcase the talents of Canada’s best junior golfers.”

In 2018, Christopher Vandette of Beaconsfield, Que., accomplished the rare feat of winning both the Junior and Juvenile divisions. The Team Canada National Junior Squad member became only the 10th golfer to win both titles at the same tournament, being powered to victory by a final round 6-under-par 65 – the lowest round of the tournament.

Vandette will return to defend his title in 2019. He will be joined by his Team Canada National Junior Squad teammates Laurent Desmarchais (Longueuil, Que.), Kai Iguchi (Banff, Alta.) and Jeevan Sihota (Victoria).

In addition to the title of 2019 Canadian Junior Boys champion, the winner will earn an exemption into the 2020 Canadian Men’s Amateur Championship.

An inter-provincial team competition will take place over the first two rounds. The two best scores of the three golfers from each provincial team in rounds one and two count towards the team’s score. The lowest aggregate score over rounds one and two determines the champions.

Alberta will look to capture its fourth straight inter-provincial championship title. The trio of Chandler McDowell (Springbrook, Alta.), Ty Steinbring (Barrhead, Alta.) and Korbin Allan (Strathmore, Alta.) combined to shoot 2 over last year, a stroke ahead of Ontario.

More information about the 2019 Canadian Junior Boys Championship can be found here.


Christopher Vandette, Beaconsfield, Que.
One of the brightest prospects in Canadian golf, Vandette recently placed third at the 2019 Toyota Junior Golf World Cup. As a 16-year-old, he made the cut at the 2018 Canadian Men’s Amateur Championship, and was in a tie for 7th following the opening round after posting a 68. Currently ranked first on the Future Links, driven by Acura Boys Order of Merit (despite playing half as many events as his counterparts), Vandette is looking to defend his title.

Laurent Desmarchais, Longueuil, Que.
Desmarchais won six tournaments in 2018, with his win at the Future Links, driven by Acura Ontario Championship being the highlight. After missing the cut at both the Canadian Men’s Amateur and Junior Boys Championships, he finished in the top-two in each of his next three tournaments, including a win at the Quebec Junior Boys Provincial Championship. Desmarchais won the 2019 PNGA Amateur Championship in July.

Kai Iguchi, Banff, Alta.
Iguchi is in his first year on the Team Canada National Junior Squad. His 2018 season featured a victory at the Future Links, driven by Acura Western Championship and he finished in a tie for 11th at the 2018 Canadian Junior Boys Championship. This season, Iguchi earned a top-10 at The Glencoe Invitational in June.

Jeevan Sihota, Victoria
The youngest member of the Team Canada National Junior Squad at just 15, Sihota earned a third-place finish at the Future Links, driven by Acura Pacific Championship, a competition he won in 2017. While he didn’t win a tournament in 2018, Sihota strung together a series of strong performances that included numerous runner-up and third-place results.

Michael Crisologo, Richmond, B.C.
Crisologo played well at the Future Links, driven by Acura Pacific Championship this year, holding off the likes of Vandette and Desmarchais to win the event in a playoff. The brother of Team Canada National Amateur Squad member Chris Crisologo, Michael is looking for some family bragging rights – Chris never finished better than tenth at the Canadian Junior Boys Championship.


The first championship was held in 1938, which was won by James Hogan.

The junior champion earns an exemption into the 2020 Canadian Men’s Amateur Championship.

Canadian Golf Hall of Famers who have won the championship include Doug Silverberg, George Knudson, Gary Cowan and Doug Roxburgh.

In 1970, the 16-and-under Juvenile Championship was added to the event. It runs concurrently with the competition and the winner receives the Jack Bailey Trophy.

In 2018, Christopher Vandette won the Juvenile and Junior titles, thanks to a final round 6-under-par 65.

Ten golfers have won both the Juvenile and Junior titles: Jim Rutledge, Jeff Makahon, Rob McMillan, Jesse Collinson, Dustin Risdon, Gord Scutt, Rafael Lee, Mitch Sutton, Charles-Éric Bélanger and Vandette.

There is a Junior Inter-Provincial Team championship that is held in conjunction with the first 36 holes of the tournament, which has been held since 1959. Alberta has won the last three Inter-Provincial Championships.

Current PGA TOUR player Nick Taylor captured the title in 2006.

The lowest single-round score in the tournament’s history is a 62, achieved in the third round in 2017 by Calvin Ross, a Fredericton, N.B. product. Ross went on to win the championship.

Mitchell Sutton was the last competitor to win back-to-back titles, doing so in 2009 and 2010.

More information on the event including tee times can be found here.