Alberta Golf announces $54,000 in scholarship funds

CALGARY – Many golfers will be heading back to school with a scholarship this year, after Alberta Golf announced the 2016 scholarship recipients.

The successful applicants include past Team Alberta members, past Interprovincial Team members, Alberta Junior Champions, Alberta Amateur Champions, as well as students who simply enjoy the sport.

Alberta Golf’s scholarship program is open to all applicants pursuing their academic interests such that golfing ability is not a requirement. More than 20 of the recipients are past junior players who have competed in Alberta Golf’s provincial championships and several continue to play at a post-secondary level.

Scholarship applications are evaluated by a committee of volunteers based on the criteria of financial need, grade point average and volunteer experience. The funds for the scholarships are generated through a yearly casino, the generosity of patrons and from various donors and foundations.

The 2016 scholarship recipients are:
Lindsay Almberg, Barrett Belland, Katie Benoit, Quinn Ceplis, Andrew Chelack, Celine Copeland, Courtney Dickson, Claire Emery, Jolene Freerksen, Kevin Gfrerer, Heather Gisi, Patrick Gobran, Andrew Harrison, Bria Jansen, Conaire Kehoe, Peter Keith, Kat Kennedy, Alissa Kuhn, Julie Kuhn, Brendan Kuny, Carolyn Lee, Daria Leidenius, Shaye Leidenius, Erin Martens, Kate Martens, Scott McNichol, Melanie Murchison, Brandon Murphy, Hamzah Naeem, Nathan Nobert, Jack Pengelly, Allan Pruss, Michael Pruss, Dalton Ronan, Elliot Saive, Tyler Saunders, Luke Scanlon, Amanda Sha, Tyler Vandermeer, Mackenzie Walker, Sydney Weber, Rachel Wiebe and Jack Wood.

The application process for the 2017 academic year starts January 1, with a deadline of July 15, 2017. For more information on the application process, click here.

Individual and corporate donations are greatly appreciated. Each donation is eligible to receive a tax receipt. To donate online at any time, click here.