Aaron Baddeley wins playoff for Barbasol title

Aaron Baddeley (Sam Greenwood/Getty Images)

OPELIKA, Ala. – Aaron Baddeley made a 24-foot putt on the fourth hole of a playoff with Si Woo Kim to win the Barbasol Championship on Sunday at Grand National.

Baddeley broke into a celebratory run off the green, tossed his club in the air and flung his cap back onto the green after his fourth PGA Tour victory. The Australian secured a two-year exemption and a spot in the PGA Championship, but not the Masters.

Both parred the first three holes of the playoff, three on 18 and the third on 17.

Woo parred 18 again after Baddeley had already clinched his first win since the 2011 Northern Trust Open.

Baddeley finished with a 5-under 66 to match Kim at 18-under 266. Kim shot a 63, closing with a bogey.

Woo, a 21-year-old South Korean, sent his approach down a slope into the rough between two grandstands on the fourth playoff hole. He chipped to 5 feet but Baddeley closed it out before Woo finished.

Woo had a two-stroke lead before a bogey on the 18th hole after putting within 9 inches on his par attempt. Baddeley parred to force the playoff.

The weather turned steamy after a light drizzle on the final regulation holes.

Former Auburn University player Michael Johnson finished a stroke back after a 65 in his first professional tournament, a few miles from campus. He just missed a potential birdie putt on his final hole that would have landed him in the playoff.

Richard H. Lee (65), Michael Thompson (65), Andres Gonzales (67) and Jhonattan Vegas (72) all finished at 15 under.

Vegas opened the day with a three-stroke lead and five holes to go to complete the rain-delayed third round. He posted four bogeys and an eagle over the first nine holes, two days after setting the course record with a 60.

Canada’s Graham DeLaet tied for 8th at 14-under. The Weyburn, Sask., native carded a final round 63 to climb 28 spots the leaderboard.